Our Team


Andrea Hawkless

NZEADT Founder


Andrea Hawkless had a son with severe Epilepsy And heard that assist dogs were being used to help people in USA and England.

She visited Support Dogs in England and proceeded to look into starting something similar in New Zealand.


The process began in 2000 and by 2009 a Trust had been formed, funding applications organised and with the help of a dedicated Board and Chairperson Dr Elizabeth Walker (Neurologist)  and trainer Leone Ward, we became the third country in the world to have such an organisation.

Our Trainers

Nicola Cadogan – Auckland

Natalie Denton – Auckland

Toni Massicks – Auckland

John Lane – Hawkes Bay

Corrinne Greenwood

Rebecca Roper – Northland

Rachel Hamilton-Williams – Wellington

Administrator / Board Member

Jan McEwen – Auckland



Leone Ward – Wanaka

Our Organisation -Trust Board Members

Mrs Andrea Hawkless – Founder

Doctor Elizabeth Walker – Chair

Dr Mary Valintine – Consultant Vet

Mr Stephen Stafford-Bush – Treasurer

Mr Michael Kyriak

Mr Frank Koszegi

Ms Jan McEwen